PDA

View Full Version : The Celts, and my love of them.

fyrefay
08-30-2009, 07:25 PM
Dear Everyone,
I'd like to write a bit about something that has at least been a part of this forum, subliminally: the Celts. Karen has researched them, natch, and I have been studying them for a couple of years, on my own. (Can't afford to go back to school on Celtic Studies, so I did something about it.)
I think I told this forum when introducing myself that I already had something of a love for this a long time ago(had a HUGE crush on Scotty in 'Star Trek'). Then, my family and I went to the Highland Games at Grandfather Mountain, in North Carolina, my home state--and the die was struck.
It began innocently enough with bagpipe music. I bought a record of the Edinburgh Tattoo, what year I don't remember, though I was in my teens to early twenties when this happened. I played that thing to death, nearly driving my family crazy! :arghhh: :wwink:
Then I bought a book by Tom Dietz: WINDMASTER'S BANE, about a 16-year old boy who receives the Second Sight--and adventures galore--when he accidentally stumbles upon Lugh and the Sidhe at their Riding...in the state of Georgia.
That did it.
I bought every book Tom Dietz wrote, and began to dream of Eire. I bought books on the Celts, went to a class on them at the Smithsonian Institution, and bought several dictionaries and grade-level books on Irish.
When the opportunity arose for me to go to Ireland, on a tour with folklorist and banjo player Mick Moloney, I went.
I visited Bronze Age sites, often subduing my fear of falling(I am no good as a hiker!):cry: and was rewarded by my little attempt at bravery by scaling the hill at Inishmore to see Dun Aenghus, a Bronze Age fort dating 5,000 years--with artifacts older than that having been found at the site(try doubling that age!). I was able to shock Deirdre, our guide, by reading the inscription plate at the fort and translating it (roughly)from Irish.